2015 Burt Award for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Literature Winners Announced

Inspiring Indigenous Youth: Winners of the 2015 Burt Award for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Literature Announced

Ottawa, October 14, 2015 — CODE is proud to announce the winners of its 3rd Annual Burt Award for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Literature and once again celebrate incredible indigenous authorship benefitting First Nations, Métis and Inuit youth.

This year’s winners, as selected by a jury of Canadian writers administered by the Canada Council for the Arts are (in alphabetical order by title):

  • Grey Eyes, by Frank Christopher Busch (published by Roseway Publishing)
  • Lightfinder by Aaron Paquette (published by Kegedonce Press)
  • Skraeling by Rachel & Sean Qitsualik-Tinsley (published by Inhabit Media)

The order of our prize winners will be revealed on October 22nd 2015, at an awards ceremony hosted in partnership with the University of British Columbia, on campus in the UBC Longhouse. It will be emceed by Shelagh Rogers, host of CBC’s The Next Chapter, and last year’s first prize winner, author of Tilly, Monique Gray Smith. The ceremony will be paired with an author’s tour of First Nations communities, both of which have been generously sponsored by CN.

A First Prize of $12,000, a Second Prize of $8,000 and a Third Prize of $5,000 will be awarded to the authors of the winning titles. In addition, publishers of these titles will be awarded a guaranteed purchase of a minimum of 2,500 copies, which will ensure that First Nations, Métis and Inuit youth across Canada will have access to the books through their schools, libraries, as well as Friendship Centres. Last year’s winning titles were distributed to almost 900 locations reaching every province and territory.

“I have no doubt these winning books will appeal to a wide range of readers right across the country, but in particular we’re promoting the books to First Nations, Métis and Inuit youth” said CODE Executive Director Scott Walter. “Through engaging writing that reflects lived realities and contemporary issues of indigenous youth, we hope to provide the spark to allow more and more youth the chance to discover a love of reading.”

About the Burt Award

The Burt Award was established by CODE – a Canadian charitable organization that has been advancing literacy and learning for over 55 years – in collaboration and with the generous support of William (Bill) Burt and the Literary Prizes Foundation. TheBurt Award for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Literature aims to provide engaging and culturally-relevant books for young people across Canada by recognizing excellence in English-language literary works for Young Adults by First Nations, Métis and Inuit authors.

The Award is the result of a close collaboration with the Assembly of First Nations, the Métis National Council, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami, the National Association of Friendship Centres, the Association of Canadian Publishers, the Canada Council for the Arts, GoodMinds and Frontier College.

CODE’s Burt Award is a global readership initiative and is also established in Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Tanzania and the Caribbean.

For further details on the Burt Award for First Nations, Métis and Inuit Literature, go to code.ngo/burt-award-canada

For more information or to request an interview, please contact:

Marika Escaravage
Manager, Integrated Marketing
Communications - CODE
(613) 232-3569 x252

Allen LeBlanc
Director, Fund Development and
Marketing - CODE

Wednesday, October 14, 2015
News Type: 
Burt Award News