CODE Celebrates National Aboriginal Day with Burt Award Announcement

Burt Award for FNIM and FNU log0sWe're excited to announce that this year, CODE’s 4th Annual Burt Award for First Nations, Inuit and Métis Literature ceremony will be hosted in collaboration withFirst Nations University of Canada in Regina on Thursday, October 13, 2016.

Shelagh Rogers (@RogersShelagh), Host of CBC Radio One's The Next Chapter will once again emcee the event – with a co-host to be named shortly. We are also looking forward to announcing the short list of book titles early this fall.

Join the conversation on Twitter and Facebook by using #BurtAward.

Aboriginal children reading CODE's Burt Award winning books

In collaboration with the Literary Prizes Foundation, the Burt Award for First Nations, Inuit and Métis Literature is given annually to English-language literary works for young adults by First Nations, Inuit or Métis authors. A first prize of $12,000, a second prize of $8,000 and a third prize of $5,000 will be awarded to the authors and translators (if applicable) of the winning titles. Publishers of winning titles will be awarded a guaranteed purchase of a minimum of 2,500 copies, which will be delivered to First Nations, Inuit and Métis youth across Canada.

Learn more



Tuesday, June 21, 2016
News Type: 
Burt Award News